Posted by: jillabroad | October 21, 2009

Weekend travels

I’m sitting on my bed, brainstorming a list of clothes to pack for my weekend trip, and hoping my passport shows up sometime in the next 12 hours. I’m headed to London tomorrow (hopefully, at this point, due to my lack of passport) to meet up with my family and tour the city. On Sunday, we’re going to Wembley to see the Patriots play the Bucs. I can’t wait! I’m so excited to go back to London because when I was there for the first two nights of my trip, I don’t feel like I really got to see a lot of the city. Of course the bus tour we did was great, but I was so jetlagged and overwhelmed that I was finally be in Europe, I really didn’t get to appreciate being there.

One of the main perks of studying abroad in Europe is that it is so easy (relatively) to travel. Every weekend, my friends are traveling to different places….Germany, Ireland, France, Spain, Italy, Hungary, Austria, Poland, Sweden, just to name a few.  Since its so easy to travel and can be pretty inexpensive (buses and trains as opposed to flights, hostels and couch surfing instead of hotels) everyone tries to take advantage of all the free time we have by going to visit different places…. 

“We’ll be in Istanbul at this time tomorrow.”…..“I decided to go to Copenhagen this weekend so I booked a bus yesterday.”….”I can’t go out tonight, I have a 6:00 train to Budapest in the morning.”….”Wanna do a day trip to Bratislava on Saturday? We can get tickets at the train station.”

These are all casual conversations I heard my friends having today between classes. Crazy, right? Although there is plenty to do and see in Prague, its really tempting to leave every weekend since its so easy to travel. Basically, you can go to any city in Europe by finding a legit hostel to stay in at hostelworld.com, and then booking a train or bus ticket. Since its that easy, and because Prague feels like home to us all now, it’s hard not to take off for a new city every weekend.


Leave a comment

Categories